المنظور الوطني

التبرع بالأعضاء: المنظور الوطني

منظمات مشتريات الأعضاء

ال سبعة وخمسون منظمة مشتريات الأعضاء (OPOs) تمثل خدمة الأمة جانبًا فريدًا من جوانب نظام الرعاية الصحية. تم تعيين هذه المنظمات المجتمعية غير الهادفة للربح ، بما في ذلك Gift of Life Michigan ، من قبل الحكومة الفيدرالية لاستعادة الأعضاء من المتبرعين المتوفين للزرع. هم المنظمات الوحيدة المكلفة بمثل هذه المسؤولية. منذ إنشاء هيكل OPO في منتصف الثمانينيات، طورت الولايات المتحدة أحد أنجح أنظمة تحديد المتبرعين والترخيص والتعافي والتنسيق في العالم.

يشمل عمل OPOs أيضًا خدمات الدعم لعائلات المتبرعين ، والإدارة السريرية للمتبرعين المتوفين ، والتعليم المهني أثناء الخدمة لموظفي المستشفى ، والتثقيف العام وتسجيل المتبرعين ، والتبرع بالأنسجة واستعادة الأعضاء والأنسجة غير القابلة للزرع من أجل البحث الطبي .

OPOs حاسمة بالنسبة للنظام عشرات الآلاف من المرضى يعتمدون عليها كل عام لتوفير عمليات زرع الأعضاء المنقذة للحياة. لهذا السبب ، من المهم التعرف على الأداء المستمر وعالي المستوى لنظام التبرعات لدينا ومواصلة الدعوة لتغييرات النظام التي تدعم التحسين المستمر.

نظام عالي الأداء

على مدى السنوات الست الماضية ، زادت منظمات مشتريات الأعضاء السنوية التبرع بالأعضاء بنسبة 44% في الولايات المتحدة ، علامة أكيدة على تحسن نظام التبرعات الذي يعمل بشكل جيد باستمرار.

US deceased donors chart 2013-2019

خلال هذا الوقت نفسه ، زادت عمليات زرع الأعضاء بشكل كبير ، واتجه عدد الوفيات في قائمة عمليات الزرع الوطنية إلى الانخفاض. تلتزم OPOs بتعظيم كل فرصة تبرع ممكنة من خلال الحصول على إذن للتبرع ، وإدارة المتبرع ، وتسهيل استعادة الأعضاء ، ونقل الأعضاء إلى مراكز الزراعة.

Wait list removal reasons chart

علاوة على ذلك ، تشير البيانات الحديثة في مجلة الجمعية الطبية الأمريكية إلى أن أداء نظام شراء الأعضاء في الولايات المتحدة هو من بين الأفضل في العالم ، حيث أن 43 من أفضل 50 سلطة قضائية دولية أداءً - و 9 من أفضل 10 فنانين - يجري الولايات الأمريكية. مقارنة بيانات الولايات المتحدة وأوروبا من المرصد العالمي للتبرع والزرع و UNOS يوضح مرة أخرى الأداء القوي لنظام OPO والزرع الأمريكي.

US and Europe organ donation comparison chart

مجتمعة ، رتظهر البيانات نقاط قوة كبيرة داخل الهيكل الحالي لمنظمات مشتريات الأعضاء الإقليمية مع علاقات تعاون وثيقة مع مراكز زراعة الأعضاء في منطقتهم والمستشفيات المانحة.

يستمر التبرع خلال أزمة الصحة العامة

تم تسليط الضوء على فعالية نظام تنظيم مشتريات الأعضاء مؤخرًا خلال أزمة COVID-19 عندما واجهت OPOs - مثل العديد من الأجزاء الأخرى من نظام الرعاية الصحية - العديد من العوامل المعقدة التي جعلت عملهم أكثر صعوبة بشكل كبير. على الرغم من تقييد الوصول إلى وحدات العناية المركزة في المستشفيات ، وقلة الاجتماعات الشخصية مع العائلات المانحة والعديد من العقبات الأخرى ، حافظ مجتمع OPO على ريادته العالمية. في الواقع ، حيث مثل حالات التبرع المتوفى في بعض الدول تم قطع ما يزيد عن 90%، شهد نظام OPO في الولايات المتحدة انخفاضًا قصير المدى في المتبرعين بالأعضاء بحوالي 38% وانتعش بسرعة إلى ما قبل COVID المستويات.

خلال نوع مختلف من الأزمات الصحية ، وهو وباء الجرعة الزائدة من المواد الأفيونية المستمرة ، حددت OPOs بسرعة الآثار المترتبة على الصحة العامة وعملت على إنشاء مسارات سريرية واضحة لهؤلاء المتبرعين المحتملين وجعل نظام الزرع أكثر انفتاحًا على استخدام الأعضاء من هؤلاء المتبرعين . نتيجة لذلك ، على مدى السنوات الخمس الماضية ، تمكنت أكثر من 6500 عائلة من ضحايا الجرعة الزائدة من الحصول على العزاء في التبرع ، وحصل ما يقرب من 21400 من متلقي الزراعة على هدية الحياة. في حين أن الزيادة في المتبرعين من الجرعة الزائدة كانت مسؤولة جزئيًا عن الزيادات الأخيرة في التبرع على أساس سنوي ، فمن المهم ملاحظة أن معدلات التبرع بالوفاة بدون جرعة زائدة قد زادت أيضًا.

Deaths by drug overdose vs non overdose chart

مواجهة التحدي في المستقبل

مع استمرار انتظار العديد من المرضى لعملية الزرع ، يتعين على أصحاب المصلحة الرئيسيين في مجتمع التبرع والزرع العمل معًا لمواءمة عملياتنا للتحسين المستمر واعتماد تلك التدابير التي ستؤدي إلى المزيد من فرص التبرع وعمليات زرع إضافية منقذة للحياة وأفضل نتائج الزرع. من بين أهمها:

اعتماد مقاييس أداء OPO أكثر دقة ومفيدة: تدعو قيادة منظمة مشتريات الأعضاء وغيرها من المدافعين عن التبرع وزراعة الأعضاء وزارة الصحة والخدمات الإنسانية الأمريكية إلى تطوير مقاييس ذات مغزى أكبر يتم الإبلاغ عنها بشكل مستقل لتعكس أداء OPOs بدقة وتعديلها بشكل مناسب مع العوامل الحاسمة مثل العمر وسبب الوفاة و الظروف المخففة (مثل جائحة COVID-19). يجب أيضًا أن تكون المقاييس المحسّنة في الوقت المناسب ودقيقة بما يكفي لإعلام وتعزيز التحسين المستمر وزيادة التبرعات. يجب أن تكون المقاييس الجديدة خالية من مشكلات سلامة البيانات المعروفة ، مثل تلك التي تصيب مجموعات البيانات التي تعتمد على شهادات الوفاة.

تشجيع استخدام الأعضاء من المتبرعين الأكبر سنًا والأكثر تعقيدًا: كل عام ، يتم التصريح بآلاف الأعضاء واستعادتها من قبل OPOs التي لا تعتبر مناسبة للزرع من خلال الممارسة الجراحية الحالية في الولايات المتحدة. ومع ذلك ، فإن العديد من هذه الأعضاء تعتبر مناسبة للزرع من قبل أنظمة الرعاية الصحية في الدول الأخرى. ستؤدي الحوافز التنظيمية الأفضل توافقًا عبر نظام OPO والزرع إلى زيادة استخدام الأعضاء من التبرع بعد المتبرعين بموت الدورة الدموية والمتبرعين في سن متقدمة والمتبرعين بأمراض مشتركة أكثر تعقيدًا.

التوسع في استخدام نضح الجسم الحي والحفظ: إن التقدم الطبي في نضح ونقل الأعضاء المتبرع بها وحفظها قد أتاح توسيع مجموعة المتبرعين التي يمكن من خلالها استعادة الأعضاء وزرعها بنجاح. من خلال العمل معًا ، يمكن لمراكز الزرع و OPOs والمنظمين الاستمرار في اعتماد هذه الأجهزة وتحسين وظيفة بعض الأعضاء المتبرع بها بشكل كبير ، مما يؤدي إلى نتائج زراعة أكثر وأفضل.

الشهادات والإعتمادات
  • الرابطة الأمريكية لبنوك الأنسجة
  • تحالف التبرع بالأعضاء وزرعها
  • رابطة منظمات مشتريات الأعضاء
  • كلية علماء الأمراض الأمريكية
  • تعديلات تحسين المختبرات السريرية
  • مراكز الرعاية الطبية والخدمات الطبية
  • الجمعية الأمريكية للتوافق النسيجي وعلم الوراثة المناعية (ASHI)
العضويات
  • رابطة منظمات مشتريات الأعضاء
  • تبرع بحياة أمريكا
  • جمعية شؤون التعددية الثقافية في الزرع
  • جمعية ميشيغان للصحة والمستشفيات
  • تبرع بتحالف الحياة في ميشيغان
شارك مع صديق
انتقل إلى أعلى

National Perspective

Organ Donation: The National Perspective

Organ Procurement Organizations

The fifty-seven Organ Procurement Organizations (OPOs) serving the nation represent a unique aspect of the health care system. These community-based, non-profit organizations, including Gift of Life Michigan, are designated by the federal government to recover organs from deceased donors for transplantation. They are the only organizations charged with such a responsibility. Since the creation of the OPO structure in the mid-1980s, the United States has developed one of the most successful systems of donor identification, authorization, recovery and coordination in the world.

The work of OPOs also includes support services for donor families, the clinical management of deceased donors, in-service and professional education of hospital staff, public education and donor registration, tissue donation and the recovery of non-transplantable organs and tissues for medical research.

OPOs are critical to the system that tens of thousands of patients depend upon each year to provide life-saving organ transplants. For this reason, it is important to recognize the ongoing, high-level performance of our donation system and to continue to advocate for system changes that support continuous improvement.

A High-Functioning System

Over the past six years, Organ Procurement Organizations increased annual organ donation by 44% in the United States, a sure sign of a well-functioning donation system continually improving.

US deceased donors chart 2013-2019

During this same time, organ transplants increased substantially, and the number of deaths on the national transplant list trended downward. OPOs commit to maximizing every possible donation opportunity by obtaining authorization for donation, managing the donor, facilitating the organ recovery, and transporting organs to transplant centers.

Wait list removal reasons chart

Moreover, recent data in the Journal of the American Medical Association indicates the performance of the U.S. organ procurement system is among the very best in the world, with 43 of the 50 top-performing international jurisdictions – and 9 of the top 10 performers – being U.S. states. Comparing U.S. and Europe data from the Global Observatory on Donation and Transplantation and UNOS demonstrates again the strong performance of the U.S. OPO and transplant system.

US and Europe organ donation comparison chart

Taken together, the data demonstrates great strengths within the current structure of regionally based Organ Procurement Organizations with close cooperative ties to their area transplant centers and donor hospitals.

Donation Continues During a Public Health Crisis

The effectiveness of the Organ Procurement Organization system is highlighted most recently during the COVID-19 crisis when OPOs – like many other parts of the health care system –  faced  a multitude of complicating factors that made their work significantly more challenging. Despite more restrictive access to hospital ICUs, fewer in-person meetings with donor families and many other hurdles, the OPO community maintained its world leadership. In fact, where as some nations’ deceased donation cases were cut by upwards of 90%, the United States OPO system experienced a short-term reduction in organ donors of approximately 38% and rebounded quickly to pre-COVID levels.

During a different kind of health crisis, that of the ongoing opioid overdose epidemic, OPOs quickly identified the public health implications and worked to create clear clinical pathways for these potential donors and to make the transplant system more open to the use of organs from these donors. As a result, over the last five years, over 6,500 families of overdose victims were able to find solace in donation, and nearly 21,400 transplant recipients received the gift of life. While an increase in donors from overdose was partially responsible for the recent year-over-year increases in donation, it is important to note that non-overdose death donation rates also increased.

Deaths by drug overdose vs non overdose chart

Meeting the Challenge Ahead

With so many patients still awaiting transplant, it is incumbent upon the key stakeholders within the donation and transplant community to work together to align our processes of continual improvement and adopt those measures that will result in more donation opportunities, additional life-saving transplants and better transplant outcomes. Among the most important are:

Adopt More Accurate and Useful OPO Performance Metrics: Organ Procurement Organization leadership and other donation and transplant advocates are calling upon the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services to develop more meaningful, independently reported metrics to accurately reflect the performance of OPOs and appropriately adjust for such critical factors as age, cause of death and extenuating circumstances (such as the COVID-19 pandemic). Improved metrics must also be timely and granular enough to inform and promote continuous improvement and increased donation. The new metrics should be free from known data integrity issues, such as those that plague datasets dependent on death certificates.

Promote the Use of Organs from Older and More Complex Donors: Each year, thousands of organs are authorized and recovered by OPOs that are not considered suitable for transplant by current U.S. surgical practice. However, many of these organs are considered suitable for transplant by other nations’ health care systems. Better aligned regulatory incentives across the OPO and transplant system would result in higher use of organs from Donation after Circulatory Death donors, donors of advanced age and donors with more complex co-morbidities.

Expanded Use of Ex Vivo Perfusion and Preservation: Medical advancement in the perfusion, transport and preservation of donor organs have made it possible to expand the pool of donors from which a successful organ recovery and transplant can be made. Working together, transplant centers, OPOs and regulators can continue adoption of these devices and dramatically improve the function of certain donated organs, leading to more and better transplant outcomes.

Certifications and Accreditations
  • American Association of Tissue Banks
  • Organ Donation and Transplantation Alliance
  • Association of Organ Procurement Organizations
  • College of American Pathologists
  • Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments
  • Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
  • The American Society for Histocompatibility and Immunogenetics (ASHI)
Memberships
  • Association of Organ Procurement Organizations
  • Donate Life America
  • Association for Multicultural Affairs in Transplantation
  • Michigan Health & Hospital Association
  • Donate Life Coalition of Michigan
Share with a Friend
Scroll to Top