50 عاما من تكريم الحياة بالتبرع

منذ عام 1971 ، قادت Gift of Life Michigan الأمة في الابتكار والتفاني في إنقاذ الأرواح وشفاءها. ها هي قصتنا.

black/white photo collage

50 عاما من تكريم الحياة بالتبرع

Woman posed in front of an indoor mission/vision display
Gift of Life Michigan logo
خمسون عاما تبدو بالتأكيد وقتا طويلا. قد يكون من المذهل التفكير في كل ما حدث ، وكيف تغيرت الأشياء ، منذ أن بدأت Gift of Life Michigan بدايتها في عام 1971.

لكن هذه ليست الطريقة الوحيدة للتفكير في الوقت ، كشيء خطي ، "من ذلك الحين إلى الآن".

عندما أنظر إلى تأثير Gift of Life ، أركز على الوقت الإضافي الممنوح للمستلمين وعائلاتهم في نصف القرن الماضي. يمكننا قياس ذلك الوقت بالسنوات ، ولكن الأهم من ذلك أنه يتكون من لحظات مثل مشاهدة طفل يتخرج من المدرسة الثانوية أو الكلية. أو أن تكون قادرًا على حمل حفيد أو مشاهدة أحد أفراد أسرته يتزوج. أو لديك عائلة خاصة بك.

نحن لا نتحدث فقط عن عشرات الآلاف من السنين الإضافية للأشخاص الذين لمسناهم ، نحن نتحدث عن حياة متجددة وحياة جيدة. وفي حالة المتبرعين ، فإن إرث الكرم الذي سيدوم إلى الأبد.

هذا هو السبب في أن هدفنا الأساسي في Gift of Life هو تكريم الحياة من خلال التبرع. على مدار 50 عامًا ، كان التزامنا هو دعم المتبرعين وأسرهم ، والتعاون مع المستشفى وشركاء الزراعة ، وإيصال هذه الهدايا الثمينة إلى الأشخاص الذين هم في أمس الحاجة إليها.

هذا ، بالطبع ، شيء لا يمكننا القيام به بمفردنا. لقد نجحنا على مر السنين بسبب الآلاف من الموظفين المتفانين وأعضاء مجلس الإدارة الملتزمين والمبتكرين وشركائنا المتحمسين في الرعاية الصحية والمجتمع. أنا أشكركم جميعا.

بينما ننتقل إلى 50 عامًا القادمة من Gift of Life ، يظل التزامنا وسيزداد قوة. سنواصل الاحتفال بنجاحنا ليس فقط بمرور الوقت ، ولكن مع تلك اللحظات الخاصة التي تعني الكثير للأشخاص الذين نخدمهم.

لقد أمضيت كل حياتي تقريبًا في هذا المجال وما يزيد عن 5 سنوات كرئيس تنفيذي لـ Gift of Life Michigan. لا أستطيع أن أتخيل القيام بأي شيء أكثر إرضاءً. إن هذه المهمة تنبع من كرم المتبرعين وأسرهم المتفاني ، وهي تمنح الأمل - والحياة - للمحتاجين. لقد استمر عملنا لمدة 50 عامًا ، وأنا على ثقة من أنه سيستمر لمدة 50 عامًا أخرى. وسيستمر تأثيره مدى الحياة.

signature

دوري ديلس ، الرئيس التنفيذي

تاريخنا

في عام 1971 ، كان زرع الأعضاء أمرًا صعبًا للغاية ، حيث يعتمد على الكلام الشفهي ، والاتصالات الشخصية ، والكثير من الحظ للمرضى المحتاجين. كانت المنافسة - وليس التعاون - هي النظام السائد اليوم.

قرر خمسة من الجراحين في ميتشيغان تغيير ذلك.

photos of 5 men from 1970s
من اليسار إلى اليمين: د. جي سي روزنبرغ ، جيريمايا توركوت ، جون أكرمان (الصورة من أرشيف جامعة ولاية ميشيغان) ، ستانلي دينست ، إدوارد كوبولا

في اجتماع في مطعم في برايتون في 27 أكتوبر 1971 ، وضع الجراحون ، الذين يمثلون كليات الطب في جامعة ميشيغان وجامعة ولاية ميشيغان وجامعة واين ستيت ، بالإضافة إلى مستشفى هنري فورد ، الأساس لما سيصبح هدية من الحياة ميشيغان. كانت خطتهم ذات رؤية: وضع الاختلافات جانبًا وإنشاء نظام يركز على المريض على مستوى الولاية يقوم بتخصيص الأعضاء بشكل منصف بين مراكز الزرع والمرضى الأكثر احتياجًا.

قال الراحل الدكتور جيريمايا توركوت ، الجراح في ما كان يُعرف وقتها بمستشفى جامعة ميشيغان وواحد من "برايتون فايف": "كان هذا كله قبل وجود أي منظمات وطنية معنية بهذا الأمر". "لم يكن هناك ارتباط بين OPOs. كنا نفتح آفاقا جديدة ".

جمعية زرع الأعضاء في ميشيغان ، كما عرفت هدية الحياة لأول مرة ، أنشأت متجرًا في آن أربور ، وظفت جيردا ليبكامان ، وهي موظفة لمؤسسة الكلى الوطنية ، كأول مدير تنفيذي وموظف وحيد. في البداية ، ركز Gift of Life على الكلى فقط ، قبل أن يسهل في النهاية عمليات زرع الأعضاء والأنسجة الأخرى.

Man at giant donor registry form with pen
كان السناتور الراحل كارل ليفين من أشد المدافعين عن التبرع بالأعضاء. كان ليفين ، الذي كان والده متبرعًا به ، أول شخص سجل في سجل متبرعي أعضاء ميتشيغان في عام 1994 في مؤتمر صحفي حضره عدد كبير من الناس عُقد في مستشفى الأطفال في ديترويت. وقد سجل أكثر من خمسة ملايين شخص كمانحين منذ ذلك الحين.

قال الدكتور جي سي روزنبرغ ، عضو آخر من الخمسة المؤسسين: "لم يكن الأمر كله عبارة عن نبيذ وورود عندما بدأنا". "كان لا يزال هناك مستوى من المنافسة بيننا. غالبًا ما كانت لدينا خلافات وصعوبات ، لكننا لم نشهد أبدًا أي عداء تجاه بعضنا البعض ".

ساعد ليبكامان المنظمة الوليدة في العثور على موطئ قدم لها - ومنزلها الجديد. عملت كمديرة تنفيذية حتى عام 1992 ، عندما تقاعدت وخلفها توم بايرسدورف. خلال فترة ليبكامان ، استقرت المنظمة في موقعها الثاني ، مزرعة ألبان تم تجديدها على طريق بلات في آن أربور. كانت المنظمة تحترم رغبات المزيد من المانحين كل عام ؛ خلال أول عام كامل لها ، سهلت جمعية زراعة الأعضاء في ميشيغان 52 عملية زرع من 36 متبرعًا. عندما تقاعد ليبكامان في عام 1992 ، كانت هذه الأرقام تصل إلى 432 و 162 على التوالي.

black/white photo with two men and a woman
عملت جيردا ليبكامان (في الوسط) كأول مدير تنفيذي لجمعية زراعة الأعضاء في ميتشيغان من 1971 إلى 1992 ، وخلفه توم بايرسدورف (يسار) ، الذي شغل منصب المدير التنفيذي حتى عام 2008. الدكتور جي سي روزنبرغ (يمين) هو أحد الجراحون "برايتون فايف" ومؤسسو TSM ، والتي غيرت اسمها لاحقًا إلى Gift of Life Michigan.

عمل بايرسدورف كمدير تنفيذي لمدة 16 عامًا ، وساعد في تطوير العديد من السياسات التي لا تزال توجه Gift of Life Michigan حتى اليوم. عندما تقاعد في عام 2008 ، كانت Gift of Life تستعد للانتقال إلى موقعها الحالي في Research Park Drive في آن أربور. ومع ذلك ، استمرت الشركة في النمو وسرعان ما بحثت عن طرق لتوسيع المنشأة التي تبلغ مساحتها 50000 قدم مربع.

خلف ريتش بيتروسكي بايرسدورف ، وأصبح أول من استخدم لقب الرئيس التنفيذي. عمل بيتروسكي في المنظمة لمدة 25 عامًا ؛ انضم إلى الشركة كمنسق تبرعات في عام 1983 ، عندما كانت جمعية زراعة الأعضاء في ميتشجان لا تزال صغيرة نسبيًا.

كان بيتروسكي ، الذي تقاعد في عام 2016 وخلفه الرئيس التنفيذي الحالي دوري ديلز ، جزءًا من النمو الهائل الذي شهد استقرار Gift of Life في مقرها الحالي في آن أربور وتوسيعه. تدير المنظمة مختبر التوافق النسيجي الحديث الخاص بها وجناح العمليات الجراحية الذي تبلغ مساحته 54000 قدم مربع ، والذي تم افتتاحه في عام 2016. يوجد أكثر من 100000 قدم مربع من المكاتب والمساحات السريرية في موقعها الذي تبلغ مساحته 6.5 فدان.

ساعد الجناح الجراحي في توفير مساحة في وحدات العناية المركزة وغرف العمليات بالمستشفى وخلق كفاءات في عمليات الزرع ، ولكن الهدف الأساسي كان دائمًا مساعدة المزيد من الأشخاص.

Man in shirt & tie with woman in business attire
المدير التنفيذي السابق توم بايرسدورف مع آن كوالتشيك ، المديرة المالية

قالت آن كووالتشيك ، المديرة المالية في Gift of Life: "كانت الفكرة هي أننا سنكون قادرين على إنقاذ المزيد من الأرواح". عملت في المنظمة لأكثر من 33 عامًا.

رخصة للربح

Man standing near framed Donate Life license plateكان ريتش بيتروسكي ، الذي عمل في Gift of Life Michigan لمدة 33 عامًا وشغل منصب الرئيس التنفيذي من 2008-2016 ، من بين أول من طلب لوحة ترخيص Gift of Life عندما أتاحتها وزيرة الخارجية السابقة روث جونسون في عام 2012. المعروف رسميًا باسم هدية جون ج. التثقيف والتوعية بالتبرع بالأعضاء والأنسجة والعين. كان دالي ، وهو متبرع بالأعضاء ، نجل نائب الدولة السابق كيفين دالي ، الذي رعى مشروع القانون في مجلس النواب.

تم إنتاج أكثر من $500،000 من خلال مبيعات اللوحات في السنوات التسع الماضية.

 

Testimonial from heart transplant recipient
Gift of Life Flag
مؤسسة هبة الحياة

تعد مؤسسة Gift of Life قديمة قدم Gift of Life Michigan وكانت شريكًا دائمًا في كل خطوة على الطريق.

تأسست في عام 1972 لدعم مهمة Gift of Life ، و المؤسسة هي مؤسسة غير ربحية التي تقدم المساعدة المالية لمتلقي الزرع وأسرهم ، والمنح لإثارة الابتكارات والأبحاث لتحسين التكنولوجيا في مجال الزرع ، وتمويل التعليم العام والمهني ، والتواصل مع المجتمع والمزيد.

من خلال سخاء المساهمين ، منحت المؤسسة ما يقرب من $2 مليون على مدى العقد الماضي. Gift of Life Foundation logo

تقدم المؤسسة التمويل الذي:

  • يساعد متلقي الأعضاء على دفع تكاليف علاج ما بعد الزرع
  • يوازن تكلفة النقل العائلي أو الإقامة في الفندق أثناء تعافي المرضى
  • يعزز التعليم العام والبرامج التي تدعم التبرع بالأعضاء والأنسجة وتشجع الناس على التسجيل كمتبرعين
  • يسمح للعاملين الاجتماعيين بالمستشفى بمساعدة مرشحي الزرع والمرضى على تلبية الاحتياجات غير المتوقعة أو العاجلة
  • يعزز البحث والابتكار في مجال الزراعة
  • يدعم البرامج التي تشجع على أفضل الممارسات للتبرع والزرع

في الآونة الأخيرة ، قدمت مؤسسة Gift of Life الأموال من أجل: توسيع نطاق منهج التوعية للشباب "كلنا"؛ إنشاء جدار تذكاري دائم للمانحين في مستشفى Ascension Borgess في كالامازو ؛ ودعم حملة "Gift of Sight" المستمرة في Eversight ، والتي تقدم المساعدة المالية للمرضى الذين لن يكونوا قادرين على تحمل تكاليف جراحة زرع القرنية.

"لقد كانت مؤسسة Gift of Life داعماً قوياً لـ إيفرسايت قال أليكس تيسكا ، مدير العمل الخيري في إيفرسايت ، "على مدى سنوات عديدة ، يظهرون تفانيهم في مهمتنا المتمثلة في استعادة البصر والوقاية من العمى".

تعمل مؤسسة Gift of Life و Gift of Life في ميشيغان معًا لتكريم الحياة من خلال التبرع ولتحقيق يوم يكون فيه التبرع بالأعضاء والأنسجة هو المعيار الثقافي لجميع المقيمين في ميشيغان.

لمزيد من المعلومات حول المشاركة أو المساهمة ، اتصل بـ Susan Rink على [email protected] أو 734.922.1350 أو قم بزيارة GOLM.org/Foundation.

تغيير الأوقات | تغير الحياة

كيف تغيرت الأوقات على مدى نصف القرن الماضي.

Old photo of a vanفي أيامها الأولى ، قامت منظمة Gift of Life Michigan بجولة حول آلة نضح عالية الكعب في الجزء الخلفي من شاحنة - أطلق عليها اسم "Stanley's Steamer" بعد أن أسس الجراح الدكتور ستانلي دينست - لتوزيع سائل الحفظ من خلال الكلى المتبرع بها.

في هذه الأيام ، يستخدم موظفو Gift of Life آلات نضح محمولة للغاية ، ويعتمدون على التكنولوجيا التي يمكنها أكسجة الأعضاء والحفاظ عليها في درجة حرارة الجسم ، واستخدام الأجهزة والإجراءات لتحسين قابلية جميع الأعضاء وحتى الأطراف المتبرع بها. تقوم Gift of Life بإجراء استعادة للأعضاء والأنسجة في مركزها الجراحي الحديث.

الثابت على مدار الخمسين عامًا الماضية هو أن Gift of Life كانت في طليعة الابتكار ، وتعمل باستمرار على حل معادلة الوقت والمسافة لإنجاح عملية الزرع. ركز التقدم على الحفاظ على الأعضاء قابلة للحياة لفترة أطول وتوسيع نطاق مراكز الزراعة للحصول على المزيد من الأعضاء لمزيد من المرضى الذين هم في أمس الحاجة إليها.

People in scrubs standing over an operating tableقال "كان هناك الكثير من التفاني على مدى عقود لإنجاح عملية الزرع" بروس لطيف، كبير المسؤولين السريريين في Gift of Life.

قالت نيسلي إن التطورات التقنية مهمة ، ولكن ربما كان الأمر الأكثر أهمية هو تطوير الأدوية المضادة للرفض لمساعدة المتلقين على العيش لفترة أطول وبراحة أكبر.

قالت نيسلي: "ما لم نفهمه سابقًا هو قوة جسد المتلقي لمحاربة العضو الجديد". "ما زالت تنظر إليه على أنه جسم غريب. كانت القدرة على إدارة الرفض بمثابة تغيير لقواعد اللعبة ".

أصبح من الممكن الآن زرع أعضاء من متبرعين مصابين بالتهاب الكبد أو حاملين لفيروس نقص المناعة البشرية في مرضى يعانون من نفس الأمراض. حتى مع وباء كوفيد -19التي أدت في البداية إلى إبطاء عملية التبرع والزرع في عام 2020 ، تمكنت Gift of Life وشركاؤها من إعادة التجمع وإيجاد طرق للحصول على المزيد من الأعضاء المزروعة أكثر من أي وقت مضى. اليوم ، تاريخ COVID-19 ليس حتى استبعادًا تلقائيًا للتبرع.

في كل عام ، تعمل Gift of Life Michigan وشركائها في المستشفى ومركز الزرع بجد من أجل تحقيق يوم لا يموت فيه أحد في انتظار عملية الزرع.

Gloved hands with pipetteإنها عملية 24/7 في Gift of Life لتكريم الحياة من خلال التبرع. في كل عام ، يستقبل مركز الاتصالات أكثر من 36000 مكالمة إحالة ، ويقوم المختبر المخصص بإجراء أكثر من 17000 اختبار توافق وأكثر من 9000 اختبار للأمراض المعدية ، وتسهل فرق التعافي ما يقرب من 400 متبرع بالأعضاء وأكثر من 1500 متبرع بالأنسجة.

قالت نيسلي: "السبب الوحيد الذي يجعلنا نتمكن من تحقيق ذلك هو الأشخاص الذين يعملون هنا". "هؤلاء أناس عطوفون ومتحمسون يريدون إحداث فرق في العالم."

انتقل إلى أعلى

50 Years of Honoring Life Through Donation

Since 1971, Gift of Life Michigan has led the nation in innovation and dedication to saving and healing lives. Here is our story.

black/white photo collage

50 Years of Honoring Life Through Donation

Woman posed in front of an indoor mission/vision display
Gift of Life Michigan logo
Fifty years certainly seems like a long time. It can be dizzying to think of all that has occurred, and how things have changed, since Gift of Life Michigan got its start back in 1971.

But that’s not the only way to think of time, as something linear, “from then to now.”

When I look at Gift of Life’s impact, I focus on the extra time given to recipients and their families this past half-century. We could measure that time in years but, more importantly, it is made up of moments like watching a child graduate from high school or college. Or being able to hold a grandchild or watch a loved one get married. Or having a family of your own.

We are not just talking about tens of thousands of extra years for the people we have touched, we are talking about lives renewed and lives well lived. And, in the case of our donors, legacies of generosity that will last forever.

That’s why at Gift of Life our core purpose is to honor life through donation. For 50 years, our commitment has been to support donors and their families, collaborate with our hospital and transplant partners, and get these precious gifts to the people who desperately need them.

This is, of course, something we could not do on our own. We have been successful through the years because of thousands of dedicated employees, our committed and innovative board members and our passionate partners in healthcare and the community. I thank you all.

As we move into Gift of Life’s next 50 years, our commitment remains and will grow even stronger. We will continue to mark our success not just with the passage of time, but with those special moments that mean so much to the people we serve.

I have spent almost all of my adult life in this field and the past 5+ years as CEO of Gift of Life Michigan. I cannot imagine doing anything more fulfilling. This mission is borne out of the selfless generosity of donors and their families, and it gives hope — and life — to those in need. Our work has gone on for 50 years, and I trust it will continue for another 50. Its impact will last for lifetimes.

signature

Dorrie Dils, CEO

Our History

In 1971, organ transplantation was a hit-or-miss affair, relying on word-of-mouth, personal contacts and a lot of luck for patients in need. Competition — not cooperation — was the order of the day.

Five Michigan surgeons decided to change that.

photos of 5 men from 1970s
L to R: Drs. J.C. Rosenberg, Jeremiah Turcotte, John Ackerman (photo courtesy of MSU Archives), Stanley Dienst, Edward Coppola

Meeting at a restaurant in Brighton on Oct. 27, 1971, the surgeons, representing the medical schools at the University of Michigan, Michigan State University and Wayne State University, as well as Henry Ford Hospital, laid the foundation for what would become Gift of Life Michigan. Their plan was visionary: Put differences aside and create a statewide patient-centered system that allocated organs equitably among transplant centers and to those patients most in need.

“This was all before there were any national organizations involved in this,” said the late Dr. Jeremiah Turcotte, a surgeon at what was then the University of Michigan Hospital and one of the “Brighton Five.” “There was no association of OPOs. We were breaking new ground.”

The Transplantation Society of Michigan, as Gift of Life was first known, set up shop in Ann Arbor, hiring Gerda Lipcaman, a one-time National Kidney Foundation employee, as its first executive director and its sole employee. Initially, Gift of Life focused only on kidneys, before eventually facilitating transplants of other organs and tissues.

Man at giant donor registry form with pen
The late Senator Carl Levin was a staunch advocate of organ donation. Levin, whose father was a donor, was the first person to sign up on the Michigan Organ Donor Registry in 1994 at a well-attended press conference that took place at Children's Hospital in Detroit. More than five million people have signed up as donors since then.

“It wasn’t all wine and roses when we started out,” said Dr. J.C. Rosenberg, another member of the founding five. “There was still a level of competition among us. We often had disagreements and difficulties, but we never developed any animosity toward one another.”

Lipcaman helped the fledgling organization find its footing – and its new home. She served as executive director until 1992, when she retired and was succeeded by Tom Beyersdorf. During Lipcaman’s tenure, the organization settled into its second location, a renovated dairy farm on Platt Road in Ann Arbor. The organization was honoring the wishes of more donors every year; during its first full year, the Transplantation Society of Michigan facilitated 52 transplants from 36 donors. When Lipcaman retired in 1992, those numbers were up to 432 and 162, respectively.

black/white photo with two men and a woman
Gerda Lipcaman (center) served as the first executive director of the Transplantation Society of Michigan from 1971-1992, and was succeeded by Tom Beyersdorf (left), who served as executive director until 2008. Dr. J.C. Rosenberg (right) is one of the "Brighton Five" surgeons and founders of TSM, which later changed its name to Gift of Life Michigan.

Beyersdorf would serve as executive director for 16 years, and helped develop many of the policies that still guide Gift of Life Michigan today. When he retired in 2008, Gift of Life was poised to move into its current location on Research Park Drive in Ann Arbor. Still, the company continued to grow and soon looked for ways to expand the 50,000-square-foot facility.

Rich Pietroski succeeded Beyersdorf, and became the first to use the CEO title. Pietroski had worked for the organization for 25 years; he joined the company as a donation coordinator in 1983, back when the Transplantation Society of Michigan was still a relatively small operation.

Pietroski, who retired in 2016 and was succeeded by current CEO Dorrie Dils, was a part of the tremendous growth that saw Gift of Life settle into and expand its current Ann Arbor headquarters. The organization operates its own state-of-the-art histocompatability laboratory and 54,000-square-foot surgical suite, which opened in 2016. There is more than 100,000 square feet of office and clinical space on its 6.5-acre site.

The surgical suite helped free up space in hospital ICUs and operating rooms and created efficiencies in transplantation, but the underlying goal has always been to help more people.

Man in shirt & tie with woman in business attire
Former executive director Tom Beyersdorf with Anne Kowalczyk, chief financial officer

“The thought was we’d be able to save more lives,” said Anne Kowalczyk, chief financial officer at Gift of Life. She has worked at the organization for more than 33 years.

License to earn

Man standing near framed Donate Life license plateRich Pietroski, who worked for Gift of Life Michigan for 33 years and served as CEO from 2008-2016, was among the first to order a Gift of Life license plate when former Secretary of State Ruth Johnson made them available in 2012. Formally known as the John J. Gleason Gift of Life Plate in honor of former State Sen. John Gleason, a kidney recipient who sponsored legislation creating it, the plate raises awareness and funds for the Thomas Daley Gift of Life Fund at the Secretary of State, which promotes organ, tissue and eye donation education and outreach. Daley, an organ donor, was the son of former State Rep.  Kevin Daley, who sponsored the bill in the House.

More than $500,000 has been generated through plate sales in the past nine years.

 

Testimonial from heart transplant recipient
Gift of Life Flag
Gift of Life Foundation

The Gift of Life Foundation is nearly as old as Gift of Life Michigan and has been a constant partner every step of the way.

Formed in 1972 to support Gift of Life’s mission, the Foundation is a non-profit that provides financial assistance to transplant recipients and their families, grants to spark innovations and research to improve technology in the transplantation field, and funding for public and professional education, community outreach and more.

Through the generosity of contributors, the Foundation has awarded nearly $2 million over the past decade. Gift of Life Foundation logo

The Foundation provides funding that:

  • Helps organ recipients pay for post-transplant medication
  • Offsets the cost of family transportation or hotel stays while patients recuperate
  • Promotes public education and programs that support organ and tissue donation and encourage people to sign up as donors
  • Allows hospital social workers to help transplant candidates and patients meet unexpected or urgent needs
  • Furthers research and innovation in the transplant field
  • Supports programs that encourage best practices for donation and transplantation

Most recently, the Gift of Life Foundation has provided money to: expand the “All of Us” youth outreach curriculum; create a permanent donor memorial wall at Ascension Borgess Hospital in Kalamazoo; and support the ongoing “Gift of Sight” campaign at Eversight, which provides financial assistance to patients who would not otherwise be able to afford cornea transplant surgery.

“The Gift of Life Foundation has been a strong supporter of Eversight for many years, showing their dedication to our mission of restoring sight and preventing blindness,” said Alex Teska, director of philanthropy at Eversight.

The Gift of Life Foundation and Gift of Life Michigan work together to honor life through donation and to bring about a day when organ and tissue donation is the cultural norm for all residents in Michigan.

For more information about getting involved or contributing, contact Susan Rink at srink@golm.org or 734.922.1350 or visit GOLM.org/Foundation.

Changing Times | Changing Lives

My, how times have changed over the past half-century.

Old photo of a vanIn its early days, Gift of Life Michigan hauled around a clunky perfusion machine in the back of a van — dubbed “Stanley’s Steamer” after founding surgeon Dr. Stanley Dienst — to circulate preservation fluid through donated kidneys.

These days, Gift of Life staff use highly portable perfusion machinery, rely upon technology that can oxygenate and keep organs at body temperature, and employ devices and procedures to improve the viability of all organs and even donated limbs. Gift of Life conducts organ and tissue recovery at its state-of-the-art surgical center.

The constant over the past 50 years is that Gift of Life has been at the forefront of innovation, continually working to solve the equation of time and distance to make transplantation successful. Progress has centered on keeping organs viable longer and expanding the reach of transplant centers to get more organs to more patients who desperately need them.

People in scrubs standing over an operating table“There’s been so much dedication over the decades to make transplantation work,” said Bruce Nicely, chief clinical officer at Gift of Life.

Nicely said the technical advancements are important, but perhaps even more critical has been the evolution of anti-rejection medications to help recipients live longer and more comfortably.

“What we didn’t quite grasp earlier was the power of the recipient’s body to fight off the new organ,” Nicely said. “It still saw it as a foreign object. The ability to manage rejection was a game-changer.”

It is now possible to transplant organs from donors with hepatitis or who are HIV-positive into patients with those same diseases. Even with the COVID-19 pandemic, which initially slowed donation and transplantation in 2020, Gift of Life and its partners were able to regroup and find ways to get more organs transplanted than ever before. Today, a history of COVID-19 is not even an automatic rule-out for donation.

Each year, Gift of Life Michigan and its hospital and transplant center partners work diligently toward bringing about a day when no one dies waiting for a transplant.

Gloved hands with pipetteIt’s a 24/7 operation at Gift of Life to honor life through donation. Every year, the communication center fields more than 36,000 referral calls, the dedicated lab performs more than 17,000 compatibility tests and more than 9,000 infectious disease tests, and recovery teams facilitate nearly 400 organ donors and more than 1,500 tissue donors.

“The only reason we can make this happen is the people who work here,” Nicely said. “These are compassionate, passionate people who want to make a difference in the world.”

Scroll to Top