التأييد التشريعي

التبرع بالأعضاء والعين والأنسجة ينقذ الأرواح كل يوم. Gift of Life Michigan ملتزمة بتثقيف الجمهور والدعوة لسياسة عامة جيدة لحماية وتعزيز التبرع والزرع.

Photo of a crowd and a blue heart mascot in front of the Michigan State Capitol building, holding their hands in the shapes of hearts

التأييد التشريعي

شجع المسؤولين المنتخبين على دعم التشريعات الصديقة للتبرعات

    Female doctor holding open chart looking at the cameraيشجع التشريع الجديد أطباء الأسرة على التثقيف حول التبرع بالأعضاء والأنسجة.

    تم تقديم مشروع قانون وصول المريض إلى معلومات سجل المتبرعين (PADRI) في كل من مجلس الشيوخ ومجلس النواب في ميشيغان في أبريل. سيساعد مشروع القانون أطباء الأسرة في ميشيغان ومراكز الرعاية العاجلة على تزويد المرضى بمعلومات حول التبرع بالأعضاء والأنسجة ونخاع العظام. يتم دعم جهود الحزبين من قبل Gift of Life Michigan.

    يتعلم أكثر

     

     

    Governor Whitmer holding up the signed HOPE Act papersالحاكم يوقع قانون الأمل ليصبح قانونا

    يسمح التشريع الذي تم توقيعه ليصبح قانونًا في ديسمبر 2021 بزرع أعضاء من متبرعين مصابين بفيروس نقص المناعة البشرية في مرضى مصابين بفيروس نقص المناعة البشرية. قبل هذا التشريع ، يمكن لـ Gift of Life Michigan استعادة هذه الأعضاء ولكن كان عليها إرسالها خارج ميتشيغان.

     

    اقرأ القصة كاملة

     

    NASEM emblem - gold-toned figure holding a torchيدعو تقرير لجنة الكونجرس من NASEM إلى مراجعة نظام الزرع

    في Gift of Life Michigan ، نتفق على أن الإصلاح ضروري لإنقاذ المزيد من الأرواح. كلفت لجنة الكونغرس التي تبحث في منظمات مشتريات الأعضاء (OPOs) بتقرير من الأكاديمية الوطنية للعلوم والهندسة والطب (NASEM). دعا تقرير NASEM إلى التحسين المستمر ، ليس فقط مع OPOs ، ولكن على مستوى النظام لتعظيم التبرع بالأعضاء وإمكانات الزرع في أمتنا. لا يمكننا أن نتفق أكثر. منذ بداية هذه العملية ، دعت Gift of Life Michigan إلى اتباع نهج على مستوى النظام لا ينظر فقط إلى OPOs ، ولكن أيضًا في مراكز الزرع ، وشركاء المستشفى ، والشبكة المتحدة لمشاركة الأعضاء (UNOS). نحن نتفق على أنه لا ينبغي أن يموت أي مريض في انتظار عملية زرع الأعضاء وهناك حاجة إلى المزيد للتأكد من عدم حدوث ذلك.

    يسلط تقرير NASEM الضوء على:

    • لقد أوصوا بأن تقوم جميع OPOs ببناء "مركز رعاية المتبرعين" ، والذي تمتلكه بالفعل Gift of Life Michigan.
    • لقد طلبوا من CMS إزالة الحواجز المالية من مستشفيات زرع الأعضاء لنقل المتبرعين إلى مراكز الرعاية ، وهو ما نتفق معه.
    • يريدون محاسبة OPOs لعدم الاستجابة للإحالات في الموقع. تعمل Gift of Life Michigan على زيادة عدد الموظفين لضمان وجودنا لتسهيل جميع الحالات المحتملة في ميشيغان.
    • لقد وضعوا مقياسًا مفاده أن جميع OPOs يجب أن تكون في 45% من المتبرعين من التبرع عن طريق الموت الدوري (DCD) - Gift of Life Michigan هي في أفضل خمسة OPOs لـ DCDs.
    • يريدون تقليل عدد الأعضاء المرفوضة. حاليًا ، يتم رفض 25% من الكلى التي يتعافى منها OPO بواسطة برامج الزرع. يوصون بمعدل رفض يبلغ 5%.
    • ودعوا إلى مزيد من الشفافية من مراكز الزرع وحقيقة أن جميع المرضى الذين بقوا في القائمة تقريبًا تلقوا العديد من العروض التي تم رفضها. يريدون أن يكون المريض أكثر إطلاعًا ومشاركة في قبول العضو. كما انتقدوا على وجه التحديد التراجع في عمليات الزرع في عطلات نهاية الأسبوع.

    Photo of a stately Howard University buildingالشراكة مع HBCUs لمعالجة عدم المساواة

    يمثل عدم المساواة العرقية في نظام الزرع مصدر قلق كبير لنا جميعًا. Gift of Life Michigan ، من خلال مشاركتها مع رابطة منظمات شراء الأعضاء (AOPO) وفي مجموعة مناصرة التبرع بالأعضاء (ODAG) ، دخلت في شراكة مع اتحاد كليات الطب HBCU لزيادة عدد الأمريكيين السود المسجلين كمتبرعين بالأعضاء و لمكافحة الفوارق في الزرع.

    Gift of Life لقد التزمت Michigan بالوصول إلى المجتمعات الملونة وتستثمر المزيد من الموارد هذا العام. لعقود من الزمن ، كنا كذلك المساهمة في زيادة إجمالية قدرها 203% في المتبرعين السود في العشرين عامًا الماضية في الولايات المتحدة ، مقارنة بزيادة قدرها 103% في المتبرعين البيض خلال نفس الفترة. كما يشير NASEM ، فإن التفاوتات في الرعاية الصحية هي مشكلة منهجية ، ونحن نواصل العمل مع شركائنا في الزراعة لتحسين الوصول.  

    ميثبوستر

    خرافة: أزمة المواد الأفيونية هي سبب نمو التبرع بالأعضاء.

    حقيقة: أزمة المواد الأفيونية ليس لماذا نما التبرع بالأعضاء في ميشيغان. من 2018 إلى 2021 ، زاد عدد المتبرعين بالأعضاء بمقدار 27%. ومع ذلك ، خلال نفس الفترة ، انخفض عدد الوفيات المرتبطة بالمخدرات المحالة للتبرع المحتمل بمقدار 31%.  

    شارك مع صديق
    انتقل إلى أعلى

Legislative Advocacy

Organ, eye and tissue donation saves lives every day. Gift of Life Michigan is committed to educating the public and advocating for good public policy to protect and advance donation and transplantation.

Photo of a crowd and a blue heart mascot in front of the Michigan State Capitol building, holding their hands in the shapes of hearts

Legislative Advocacy

Encourage elected officials to support donation-friendly legislation

    Female doctor holding open chart looking at the cameraNew legislation encourages family doctors to educate about organ and tissue donation.

    The Patient’s Access to Donor Registry Information (PADRI) bill was introduced in both the Michigan Senate and House of Representatives in April. The bill will help Michigan family doctors and urgent care centers provide patients with information about organ, tissue, and bone marrow donation. The bipartisan effort is supported by Gift of Life Michigan.

    Learn more

     

     

    Governor Whitmer holding up the signed HOPE Act papersGovernor signs HOPE Act into law

    Legislation signed into law in December 2021 enables organs from HIV-positive donors to be transplanted into HIV-positive patients. Prior to this legislation, Gift of Life Michigan could recover these organs but had to send them out of Michigan.

     

    Read the full story

     

    NASEM emblem - gold-toned figure holding a torchCongressional Committee’s report from NASEM calls for a review of the transplant system

    At Gift of Life Michigan, we agree that reform is needed to save more lives. The congressional committee looking at Organ Procurement Organizations (OPOs) commissioned a report from the National Academy of Science Engineering and Medicine (NASEM). The NASEM report called for continuous improvement, not just with OPOs, but system-wide to maximize organ donation and transplant potential in our nation. We couldn’t agree more. From the start of this process, Gift of Life Michigan advocated for a system-wide approach that would not only look at OPOs, but also transplant centers, hospital partners, and United Network for Organ Sharing (UNOS). We agree that no patient should die waiting for an organ transplant and more is needed to make sure that does not happen.

    NASEM report highlights:

    • They recommended that all OPOs build a “donor care center,” which Gift of Life Michigan already has.
    • They asked that CMS remove financial barriers from transplant hospitals to move donors to care centers, which we agree with.
    • They want OPOs held accountable for not responding to referrals on-site. Gift of Life Michigan is increasing staff to ensure that we are present to facilitate all possible cases in Michigan.
    • They set a metric that all OPOs should be at 45% of their donors from donation by circulatory death (DCD) – Gift of Life Michigan is in the top five OPOs for DCDs.
    • They want to decrease the number of organs rejected. Currently, 25% of kidneys that OPOs recover are declined by transplant programs. They recommend a rejection rate of 5%.
    • They called for more transparency from transplant centers and the fact that nearly all patients who linger on the list have received many offers that were declined. They want the patient to be more informed and involved in accepting an organ. They also specifically rebuked declines in transplants on the weekends.

    Photo of a stately Howard University buildingPartnership with HBCUs to address inequity

    The racial inequity in the transplantation system is of great concern to us all. Gift of Life Michigan, through its participation with the Association of Organ Procurement Organizations (AOPO) and in the Organ Donation Advocacy Group (ODAG), has partnered with the Consortium of HBCU Medical Schools to increase the number of Black Americans registered as organ donors and to combat disparities in transplantation.

    Gift of Life Michigan has been committed to reaching communities of color and is investing even more resources this year. For decades, we have been contributing to an overall 203% increase in Black donors in the past 20 years in the U.S., compared to a 103% increase in white donors during the same period. As NASEM notes, healthcare disparities are a systemic issue, and we continue to work with our transplant partners to improve access.  

    Mythbuster

    Myth: The opioid crisis is the reason for the growth in organ donation.

    Fact: The opioid crisis is not why organ donation has grown in Michigan. From 2018 to 2021, the number of organ donors increased by 27%. Yet over the same period, the number of drug-related deaths referred for possible donation decreased by 31%.  

    Scroll to Top