التبرع بالمشيمة

تقدم Gift of Life Michigan الآن برنامجًا خاصًا للأمهات الجدد الراغبات في التبرع بمشيمة أطفالهن لمساعدة الآخرين الذين لديهم احتياجات طبية خطيرة. تعمل Gift of Life مع العديد من مستشفيات ميشيغان لجعل التبرع بالمشيمة ممكنًا.

التبرع بالمشيمة والحبل السري

اصنع فرقًا للآخرين وخلق إرثًا لطفلك

يمكن للأمهات الحوامل من أي عمر اللواتي سيضعن ولادة قيصرية مخطط لها في سانت جوزيف ميرسي آن أربور الاستفادة من هذه الفرصة الفريدة ، طالما لا توجد حالات طبية غير مؤهلة. وتشمل هذه العدوى أو الفيروسات مثل فيروس نقص المناعة البشرية والتهاب الكبد أو غيرها التي يمكن أن تنتقل إلى المرضى الذين يتلقون مشيمة متبرع بها للشفاء. الآن ، مستشفى سانت جوزيف ميرسي آن أربور هو المستشفى الوحيد في الولاية الذي يتشارك مع Gift of Life Michigan في هذا البرنامج الخاص. نتوقع توسيعه ليشمل مستشفيات أخرى في ميشيغان في المستقبل.

Mother Holding Newborn Baby
ما الذي تم التبرع به؟

بعد الحصول على إذن منك ، يمكن التبرع بالحبل السري والمشيمة لطفلك - التي يتم التخلص منها عادةً بعد الولادة. لا تتأثر ولادة طفلك بأي حال من الأحوال ولا يوجد أي خطر عليك أو على طفلك.

كيف يتم استخدام المشيمة؟

المشيمة غنية بالمواد المغذية لذلك لها خصائص علاجية فريدة. غالبًا ما يستخدم لعلاج الجروح الرضحية وقرح السكري - الحالات التي لا ينغلق فيها الجلد ويشفى من تلقاء نفسه. كما أنها تستخدم لمساعدة الأشخاص الذين يعانون من إصابات وأمراض العيون ، وإجراءات العمود الفقري والأسنان والإصابات الرياضية.

عندما علمت نيكول ماسي أنها تستطيع مساعدة الآخرين من خلال التبرع بمشيمة ابنها المولود حديثًا ، قالت إنها كانت مفتونة بهذا الاحتمال.

قال ماسي ، أحد سكان كانتون: "لطالما كنت من النوع الذي يتبرع بالدم ويساعد عندما أستطيع ذلك". "التبرع بالمشيمة لم يكن شيئًا كنت أفكر فيه ، لكنني كنت أعرف أن هناك الكثير من الأبحاث حول هذا الموضوع."

كانت قد حددت موعدًا لإجراء عملية ولادة قيصرية في أغسطس 2020 ، وعرض طبيبها إمكانية التبرع بالمشيمة. قالت ماسي ، وهي مساعدة طبيب جراح ، إنها قررت النظر في الأمر.

قالت: "الشيء الأكثر إثارة للاهتمام بالنسبة لي هو أن جزءًا من المشيمة يستخدم للعناية بالجروح". "كانت تلك نقطة تحول بالنسبة لي. بمجرد دخولنا غرفة العمليات ونستخدم [الأنسجة المُعالجة] ، ربما يكون شيئًا مني. أنا أساعد بأكثر من طريقة ".
كان زوجها ، جاستن ، الذي عمل سابقًا في بنك العيون في ميشيغان - الآن Eversight - يعرف أيضًا الفوائد التي يمكن أن توفرها الأنسجة المتبرع بها ، وكان داعمًا للقرار.

Gift of Life Michigan تعمل مع سانت جوزيف ميرسي آن أربور في برنامج التبرع بالمشيمة. يمكن للأمهات الحوامل اللواتي يلدن بعملية قيصرية مخططة المشاركة ، طالما أنهن قادرات طبيًا على ذلك. الخطوة الأولى هي اتخاذ قرار للقيام بذلك. شجع ماسي الآخرين على التبرع ، إذا استطاعوا.

قالت: "سوف يتم التخلص منها على أي حال". "لماذا لا تستخدمه جيدًا؟"

Placenta_Nicole_1
كيف يساعد

فوائد فريدة للتبرع بالمشيمة

Surgery Icon

الاستخدامات الجراحية

التئام الجروح وتصحيح العمود الفقري وإجراءات الأسنان والطب الرياضي والمزيد.

Eye Icon

شفاء العيون

جفاف العين وتلف القرنية وأمراض القرنية وأمراض العين الأخرى.

Recovery Icon

تعافي المريض

يشجع على الشفاء ويخفف الألم ويقلل من الندوب ويقلل من التورم ويقلل من الالتهابات.

انه سهل

كيفية المشاركة

فقط أخبر Gift of Life Michigan وطبيبك في St. Joseph Mercy Ann Arbor أنك تريد التبرع بمشيمة طفلك. اتصل بـ Gift of Life على الرقم 800-482-4881 أو مراسلتنا على البريد الاليكتروني. سيتصل بك أحد المنسقين لدينا لتحديد وقت مناسب لإكمال بعض المستندات والإجابة على الأسئلة المتعلقة بتاريخك الطبي والاجتماعي. بعض الأسئلة شخصية ، مما قد يجعل بعض الأشخاص يشعرون بعدم الارتياح إلى حد ما ، لكن المعلومات مهمة لضمان سلامة الأنسجة المتبرع بها. ستستغرق المقابلة حوالي 20 دقيقة ، وهي مشابهة للأسئلة التي تطرح على المتبرعين بالدم.

قبل الولادة ، ستقدمين عينة دم صغيرة ، والتي يتم أخذها بينما يقوم طاقم المستشفى بجمع الدم للاختبار الخاص بهم قبل الولادة القيصرية. لذلك لن يكون هناك كزة إبرة إضافية.

بعد ولادة طفلك ، سيتم اختبار المشيمة ومعالجتها وفقًا لإرشادات صارمة ووفقًا لأعلى المعايير الطبية والأخلاقية.

انتقل إلى أعلى

Placenta Donation

Gift of Life Michigan now offers a special program for new mothers wanting to donate their baby's placenta to help others with serious medical needs. Gift of Life is working with several Michigan hospitals to make placenta donation possible.

Placental and Umbilical Cord Donation

Make a Difference for Others and Create a Legacy for Your Baby

Expectant mothers of any age who will give birth with a planned Cesarean section at St. Joseph Mercy Ann Arbor can take advantage of this unique opportunity, as long as there are no disqualifying medical conditions. Those would include infections or viruses such as HIV, hepatitis or others that could be transmitted to patients who would receive donated placenta for healing. Right now, St. Joseph Mercy Ann Arbor is the only hospital in the state partnering with Gift of Life Michigan on this special program. We anticipate expanding it to other Michigan hospitals in the future.

Mother Holding Newborn Baby
What is donated?

With your permission, your baby's umbilical cord and placenta - normally discarded after birth - can be donated. Your child's birth is in no way affected and there is no risk to you or your baby.

How is placenta used?

Placenta is rich in nutrients so it has unique healing properties. It is most often used to heal traumatic wounds and diabetic ulcers - situations where the skin won't close and heal on its own. It's also used to help people with eye injuries and diseases, for spinal and dental procedures and for sports injuries.

When Nicole Massey learned that she could help others by donating her newborn son’s placenta, she said she was intrigued about the possibility.

“I’ve always been the type of person to donate blood and help out when I can,” said Massey, a Canton resident. “Donating placenta wasn’t something I had thought of, but I knew there was a lot of research about it.”

She had scheduled a planned C-section for August, 2020 and her obstetrician brought up the possibility of donating the placenta. A surgical physician’s assistant, Massey said she decided to look into it.

“The most interesting thing to me is that part of the placenta is used for wound care,” she said. “That was a tipping point for me. Once we’re in the OR and we’re using [the processed tissue], maybe it’s something that was from me. I’m helping in more ways than one.”
Her husband, Justin, who had formerly worked at the Michigan Eye Bank – now Eversight – also knew the benefits donated tissue could provide, and was supportive of the decision.

Gift of Life Michigan works with St. Joseph Mercy Ann Arbor on the placenta donation program. Expectant mothers who give birth with a planned C-section can participate, as long as they are medically able to. The first step is deciding to do it. Massey encouraged others to donate, if they can.

“It is just going to get thrown away anyway,” she said. “Why not put it to good use?”

Placenta_Nicole_1
How Does it Help

Unique Benefits of Placenta Donation

Surgery Icon

Surgical Uses

Wound healing, spinal corrections, dental procedures, sports medicine and more.

Eye Icon

Healing for Eyes

Dry eyes, cornea damage, cornea disease, and other diseases of the eye.

Recovery Icon

Patient Recovery

Encourages healing, relieves pain, minimizes scarring, reduces swelling, and decreases infections.

It's Simple

How to Participate

Just tell Gift of Life Michigan and your physician at St. Joseph Mercy Ann Arbor that you want to donate your baby's placenta. Call Gift of Life at 800-482-4881 or send us an email. One of our coordinators will contact you to set up a convenient time to complete some documents and answer questions about your medical and social history. Some questions are personal, which can make some people feel a little uncomfortable, but the information is important to ensure the safety of donated tissue. The interview will last about 20 minutes, and is similar to questions asked of blood donors.

Before your delivery, you will provide a small blood sample, which is taken as hospital staff collect blood for their own testing before your C-section. So there will be no additional needle poke.

After your baby is delivered, the placenta will be tested and processed under strict guidelines and according to the highest medical and ethical standards.

Scroll to Top